I wanted to re-cap my favorite Canadian moments from the games because oh-em-gee does this country bring the awesome. I am so fiercely proud to be Canadian. Are we perfect? Nope, Do we get everything right? Nope, But are we full of heart? Oh Yes!
I love my home and native land and I love Canadian stereotypes even more - every time an American television show makes fun of us I love it it's hilarious (although I maintain we do not sound like they think we do) We say Eh to much, our money is funny colors, we're ridiculously sorry about every minor inconvenience and we love poutine and maple syrup and our beer is pretty fantastic. Being Canadian is awesome and our Olympic athletes are so amazing.
Here are my favorite moments in no particular order:
Ah how cute is he, this is the Fairmont dog and he (along with the rest of Canada) is rocking his red mittens and various Olympic gear to show is support. GO-Canada
This moment is so Canadian, the Head Coach of the Canadian Ski Team gave his Ski to a Russian athlete so he could finish the games. Here's the tweet I took this from (Character. @cccski
Head Coach Justin Wadsworth gave a ski to Russian Anton Gafarov. Finished race.
via @MrHExperience pic.twitter.com/3YzDmZsQhR)
A Nation in Crisis: Canada winning too many Olympic medals, unsure who to
apologize to.
We were doing really well for the medal count for a while (its since slipped a bit) but it played on Canadian stereotypes so I obviously loved it.
Ah so many moments, many of them are already recapped in lovely posts so I will just link to them now:
<3 Ah so much pride. (Again I apologize for the images I am not sure how to make them the size that I want)


No comments:
Post a Comment